The Gimpy Colon*

*No, it's not another trendy bar.

The Gluten Observations…

on March 21, 2011

So it’s what… day 5.. and here’s what I’ve learned so far:

1. If you mention to someone that you either have Celiac disease or a gluten allergy or are going gluten-free for any length of time, people will come out of the woodwork with names, addresses and phone numbers of friends and family and even complete strangers they met in the supermarket who have Celiac disease, or a gluten allergy or went gluten-free and they can “hook you up”.

2. There is this whole netherworld of gluten-free people roaming the earth. So far they are nice and fun and helpful and not one of them is sad about being gluten-free.

3. Most mayonnaise, some kinds of chocolate, and some kinds of cheese are gluten-free. Thank you Lord.

4. I had my very first gluten-free communion wafer yesterday. I’m no communion wafer connoisseur, but a gluten-free communion wafer tastes much better with a swig of wine.

5. I can’t say I feel better precisely, but I definitely feel different. Maybe different is better than before. It’s hard to tell.

6. It’s tough to not be disappointed that my new gluten-free diet will not cure my Crohn’s disease no matter how good I am about it.

7. It looks like almost any food with gluten in it can be swapped out for gluten-free, which now makes eating for me a fun sort of puzzle… like gluten Sudoku.

8. My dog doesn’t like bananas.

9. I’m glad the first Celiac Disease book I read was by Elisabeth Hasslebeck (a former Survivor contestant, and she’s on a daytime show as well.) She dumbed down Celiac Disease enough for me to want to conquer the next book which is called “Your First Year with Celiac Disease” which is in a series. I’ve already read “Your First Year with Crohn’s Disease” and I’m wondering if I should just get the whole autoimmune box set.

10. I made a chocolate peanut butter cheesecake this weekend and couldn’t taste it because I couldn’t be sure if there was gluten in it or not. Try that. Bake something and don’t taste it. I could have totally mixed up the sugar and salt or forgot to put something in… it really was a jump out of the plane without a parachute kind of feeling. Luckily, people either ate it and liked it or were very polite and threw it in the garbage in the other room.

I think that’s it… still no test results… but I’m sure there’s more gluten-free fun to come!!!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

