The Gimpy Colon*

*No, it's not another trendy bar.

The Family Connection…

on March 27, 2011

Whilst I wait for my GI doctor to call me on Monday with regard to my CT scan which I got last Friday, I decided to seek out someone to blame for this whole mess.

When we were first talking about Crohn’s disease and even more recently about Celiac disease, my doctor asked me if anyone else in my family had Crohn’s disease or Ulcerative Colitis. He said that they were genetic, and since I had a whopping case of Crohn’s disease, there had to be someone… I couldn’t think of anyone off the top of my head, but then again, I couldn’t imagine that people in my family would be running around talking about their bowels… except maybe me… I have a blog.

So I asked my mom, and she said that my grandmother (my dad’s mom) had “ulcers” but she wasn’t sure exactly what that meant or if they were really ulcers. Unfortunately, my grandmother passed away before I was born, so I never knew her and I wouldn’t have been able to ask about the extent of her “ulcers”. But that’s it really. Not another soul.

Of course, I wondered if maybe I was adopted. Whenever I wonder that out loud, people laugh. I look just like (name any person in my immediate family… name anyone… I look just like them). Ok so fine… I’m not adopted. So on to find out the family bowel history!!!!

It all happened kind of on accident. I was recovering from drinking the gallon of paste they make you drink before a CT scan. HATE THAT STUFF!!! So I was flipping through the channels and came across a show called “Who Do You Think You Are” which is when they pick a celebrity and they go through that celebrity’s family history and I guess nine times out of ten they find an interesting story back there. This particular episode was about Steve Buscemi, an actor from one of my all-time favorite movies, Fargo. (Poor Steve really GETS IT in the end of Fargo). Anyway, as they were looking through census records for Steve, some of the records had little notations on the sides and I couldn’t help but notice that one of the notations said “bowel disease”. Is it possible that I could find out who might have had “bowel disease” in my own family?

So I hopped on http://www.ancestry.com and signed up for their two-week free subscription. I’m proud to say that one side of my family has been in the US for a long looooong time (Woot Woot Mayflower yo!) … I’m also proud to say that I can legitimately celebrate St. Patrick’s day (County Cork Represent!!!) and I can also legitimately celebrate Cinco de Mayo. If only these dang relatives of mine were sick enough to get a notation of “bowel disease” on their census records. My great, great, great grandmother on my father’s side had Dropsy… yeah… not helpful gramma…

Did I expect to find the culprit? The rat that infiltrated my once thought to be clean gene pool that’s now all gumped up with autoimmune insanity? No… not really… but it was one of those shot in the dark things that I guess we all wonder about. So far I’ve had fun on ancestry.com. I have to get the SUPER version if I want to skip into Mexico and Ireland for more records and I might. I think I’ll just go back to blaming this all on the nasty case of mono I got when I was 18. That was definitely MY fault… One shouldn’t party all weekend, stay up all night and then eat nothing but sour patch kids for breakfast. And wearing a hat to and from swim practice is cool…. now I think it’s cool… and don’t drink coke out of the same bottle of someone who says… “you know I’m really tired, and my throat kinda hurts” … man… so many easy things to avoid… I almost feel bad trying to pin it on someone I’ve never met!!!

Sorry random family member.

Anyway… onward and upward!

Cheers!

5 responses to “The Family Connection…

  1. Puddin' or butter.... says:

    Don’t u know by now it is always your fault. There, there.
    And….while you LOOK like everyone in your family, you seem to forget that the chances of you being families major mutant of the gene pool is HUGE!!
    Alas. It’s all okay. Mom always said you were special!

    • damudder says:

      Puddin’, she is special. I keep telling her that all her maladies come from her father’s side of the family.

  2. KTC says:

    I am glad to see you researching your family tree. Although, considering that I am obsessed with genealogy (have you seen MY blog), of course, I would approve!

    However, I must say, this is the first time I heard of someone using census material to trace family health issues. Occupation, parents, siblings, place of birth–yes, but bowel disease? Hmm…

    Way to think outside the box, Gimpy Colon!

  3. Renee says:

    “You know, I’m really tired and my throat kinda hurts” would have made me run for the hills! I guess it pays to be a germ-o-phobe. šŸ™‚

  4. Renee says:

    P.S.

    Could this all be Paul’s fault?

Leave a Reply

