The Gimpy Colon*

*No, it's not another trendy bar.

The Upside…

on March 29, 2011

Whelp! The cat scan (meow!) came out pretty well if I do say so myself. It looks like the medicine is working. I just have some issues with the lower right side (where my appendix is) where I still have pain. It’s called the terminal ileum for all you google freaks. My GI doctor said that there are probably adhesions there and that it’s going to be a wait and see situation. Lucky for me, it’s a very popular place to have Crohn’s disease and there are a few options. Surgery is the very last option by the way. Right now, we are going to concentrate on the medications, specifically the Remicade. I have my fourth round of Remicade this Monday and I’m hoping I feel more of a change. I hear that after the fourth or fifth round, there should be some sort of improvement. Meanwhile, we are adding another medication to the bucket. I think this makes an even 10 meds. I’m now on more medications than most grandmothers I know.

After a little over a week gluten-free, I am definitely feeling better in the stomach. I can’t speak for the rest of me though. Yesterday, I had another cortisol fit and fell asleep at my desk at least four times. Then, after work, I went straight to bed. Then I had trouble sleeping… then I was fine today. I mentioned all this to my GI doctor when he called and miraculously, I was called today by my brand new endocrinologist who will see me at the end of April, which I might add, is way better than the end of November when I thought I was going to meet this guy. I was told that November was for the not-so-urgent people… which I guess makes me urgent. Yesterday, I felt urgent. Today… not so much. My GI doctor and I had this plan where I was going to go off Prednisone 1mg at a time as opposed to 5mg at a time. But maybe that plan will change when I see the endocrinologist. Should be fun stuff.

Anyway, back to the gluten-free stuff which is where the title of this post comes from. It’s been working out. We have this little coffee shop that is walking distance from our house. Every Tuesday, Gimpy and Gimpy’s husband (hereinafter referred to as “Farmboy”) stroll down to the coffee shop for lunch. I used to get this fantastic mushroom brie soup that was TO DIE…. I also got half an egg salad sandwich, and then three sugar cookies with the yummy colored sugar topping. Delish! But now, since the soup has the rue, the egg salad has the bread and the sugar cookies have… gluten… I have to switch everything around. I knew that the shop didn’t do gluten-free stuff yet (they are kind of new). I got a gluten-free bread mix from the grocery store, made the bread in my bread maker, froze it, then grabbed two pieces of bread and brought them to the shop. They were happy to toast my bread, and put egg salad on it. Couldn’t do anything about the mushroom brie soup, but that’s OK, because they didn’t have any today anyway, and then… THEN… I got a hot chocolate with that fuzzy squirt milk they shoot into cups… I don’t know what it is… like a latte? but anyway, have a hot chocolate with fuzzy squirt milk… mushroom brie who? Sugar cookie what? After lunch tummy felt good and I went on with life.

Tummy would be happier if Farmboy wouldn’t keep eating my homemade gluten-free cookies. Really puts a damper on things. You know, you open the drawer and… D’OH!!!

Until next time people..

Cheers!

4 responses to “The Upside…

  1. Susie says:

    Hey, did I ever tell you I did some research with Remicade? We were spiking human endothelial cells (don’t ask, really boring) with Remicade (or Enbrel) and seeing if they got all pissed and did really messed up things. The cells did nothing….they continued to grow all happy go lucky. That is good news for you. But not so much for me. I still have no publications on my resume. LOL

  2. damudder says:

    You are the most innovative problem solver I ever knew! No weeping, wailing or gnashing of teeth. Think out of the box = happy, productive result. So proud of Gimpy Colon!

  3. KTC says:

    Well, if those gluten-free cookies are as yummy as your peanut-butter cheesecake, then I can understand why he is munching down on them!

  4. Renee says:

    There is a GLUTEN-FREE bakery in Fords,NJ. Seriously, maybe they ship!

Leave a Reply

