The Gimpy Colon*

*No, it's not another trendy bar.

The Entocort Farewell…

on June 28, 2011

Well, I had a crappy week last week. Tuesday was my last day of Entocort (another steroid that targets just one area of the colon) I hate, hate, hate what steroids do to me. This past Wednesday I woke up and basically sifted through this unbelievable fog. I managed to get the boy to camp somehow but then came home and ended up in bed sleeping… all day… and then I woke up and had the worst headache I’ve ever had in my life. If you Google “Crohn’s Disease” you’ll come up with a list of symptoms. I had all of those symptoms including a few that weren’t on the list like the desire to fling myself out the nearest window, if only I had the energy. Thursday was almost exactly the same. We called the GI doctor. His nurse said and I quote “that wasn’t supposed to happen”… always fun words to hear. Although, I don’t think I’ve had a typical run of this whole Crohn’s thing, I’m thinking going off the steroids has caused the most consternation with my buddies in the medical world… I’m sending my blog address to the writers of “House”. Perhaps Hugh Laurie can figure me out.

So sometime on Wednesday evening, I picked up my Droid and put a status on Facebook that said something the effect of “Worst Crohn’s fail ever… somebody please kill me”. That status caused more than several phone calls to my house and an almost completely stuffed e-mail inbox… sorry ‘bout that… I’ll try to keep the Droid away while I’m hallucinating. I totally dig the love though.

Anyway, Friday I was a bit better… Saturday I was even better, and that was mostly because my kid just discovered the game Uno and we played that basically all day. I still deal with nausea, I’m not sure where that came from. I basically made it through Sunday with nothing but a communion wafer (gluten free). Yesterday I woke up and ate an omelet with some meat and cheese in it… that went well. So I’m much better now. Today, I am Entocort-free and down to 3mg of prednisone… I haven’t measured my head lately, but I think it’s a little smaller… not in the African head shrinking kind of way, but in a less prednisone kind of way. My hair is still all over the floor though… May the Lord bless and keep those Merry Maids.

Be well everyone!

3 responses to “The Entocort Farewell…

  1. Connie says:

    Awww, Maura, I’m so sorry you’re going through all this!!!! I truly wish there was something, anything I can do for you!!!!!!! Sending hugs and saying prayers!!!!

  2. wendy says:

    UGH, I have btdt! My moment was when I’d been on one drug after another for months and my brain was swimming in some sort of crazy cocktail, I told my DH just leave me here to die!
    steriods turn your brain to mush, they just do. I’m glad your on the wean off, I promise you’ll feel sane again one day soon!

    oh and p.s. the “tomato head” as we called it in our house does go away eventually!

  3. Jill says:

    I was diagnosed with Colitis and gone through total colectomy and jpouch surgery only to find out it is really Crohns and my pouch is a mess. My doctor at UNC Chapel Hill recently started me on Humira so I would not have to do steroids at all. I am currently taking Humira shots (injections given by self at home) bi-weekly and imuran daily….that is it. You may want to ask your doctor about Humira. It was a life saver for me!

Leave a Reply

